With fifteen ratifications, the ISA framework agreement shall enter into force on the thirtieth day after the date of deposit of the relevant instrument which is December 06, 2017.

ISA is the first international intergovernmental treaty-based organization headquartered in India.

As on November 06, 2017 44 countries have signed the ISA Framework Agreement, and out of which following 15 have submitted the formal Instrument of ratification: Bangladesh, Comoros, Fiji, France, Ghana, Guinea, India, Mali, Mauritius, Nauru, Niger, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan and Tuvalu.

The International Solar Alliance was jointly launched by the Honorable Prime Minister of India and former President of France on November 30, 2015, at Paris, in the presence of the then Secretary-General of the United Nations, on the first day of COP21 UN Climate Change Conference.

The activities of ISA shall include undertaking joint efforts required to reduce the cost of finance and the cost of technology to the needs of 121 countries lying wholly or partially between the Tropics. Also, to mobilize more than $1000 billion of investments needed for massive deployment of 1,000 GW solar by 2030 and pave the way for future technologies adapted.